Nominations for the TAPPI 2013 awards are due by August 1. The awards that may be presented in the upcoming year are:

• Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal Award: The association’s highest technical honor may be presented annually to recognize an individual or individuals for preeminent scientific and engineering achievements of proven commercial benefit to the world’s pulp, paper, board, and forest products industries, as well as the other industries that TAPPI serves.

• Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Award: TAPPI’s highest award for service, this award may be presented annually to recognize leadership and service that have significantly and demonstrably contributed to the advancement of the association.

• Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Member Award: The highest honor for local sections may be presented annually to recognize an individual for outstanding leadership and exceptional service to one or more local sections that have resulted in significant and demonstrable benefits to the local section members.

• TAPPI Fellow: Fellows are individuals who have been members of TAPPI for not fewer than 10 years prior to the nomination, and who have contributed meritorious service to the association and/or the paper and related industries. Retiring members of the TAPPI Board of Directors become Fellows automatically at the end of their term.

For additional information, visit