The Adhesive and Sealant Council (ASC) held its 6th annual Innovation Awards on April 27, 2022, at the 2022 World Adhesive & Sealant Conference. A panel of judges reviewed submittal packages from 34 entrants, reportedly the most in the awards’ history, and have recognized the top three innovations from the adhesive and sealant industry.

The primary award was presented to Mark Gower and the PACE Team at Avery Dennison for a development entitled “Advanced Acrylics Technology for High Performance Pressure Sensitive Adhesive Applications.” The technology combines controlled radical polymerization within emulsion systems with polymerizable surfactant technology to deliver emulsion pressure-sensitive adhesive (PSA) that is replacing high-performance solvent-based PSA in many applications.

Additional awards were announced for:

  • 1st Runner Up—H.B. Fuller, “Low Monomer/Emission Reactive Hot Melt Adhesives”
  • 2nd Runner Up—ICP, “Novel Low Pressure Spray Polyurethane Foam Blown with Hydrofluoroolefin Propellant”

The independent judges reviewed the following categories and weightings as part of their review process:

  • Science and Innovation (30%)
  • Applicability & Impact (10%)
  • Impact of the Technology Relative to the State of the Art (30%)
  • Qualifications, Experience and Capabilities (20%)
  • Significant Milestone (10%)

“It is important for ASC to recognize innovators within our industry who go above and beyond to meet unmet needs in adhesive and sealant product development,” said Bill Allmond, ASC president. “This year’s winners demonstrate a strong commitment to innovation excellence and help foster further innovative advancement in our industry.”

According to Brian Peters, director of Membership and Industry Programs, “This year’s volume of submissions was very impressive, setting a record in fact. ASC and the judges were pleased with the quality of the 34 submissions received for the 6th annual program in which we recognize unique developments for our industry. We look forward to seeing the program grow and continuing to recognize innovations in our industry. Congratulations to Avery Dennison as our 1st place winner as well as to H.B. Fuller and ICP as runners-up for the 2022 best innovations.”

Additional details are available at